Scribbling Dame

Preposterous Pondering.

Almost a Yogi September 8, 2014

Filed under: Almost a Yogi — Scribbling Dame @ 9:23 pm
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Well hello, old friend. I’ve thought about writing you–often. Then I get tired and fall asleep instead.

But here I am and I signed up for my 200 hour yoga teacher certification. I’m a goddamned hippie. Even better, I have to go vegetarian for my training period, which is funny since in my last post about yoga I was all like “nobody’s touching my bacon.” They got to me!

Can I tell you how totally insane it is for me to sign up for this? I’m not that advanced in yoga–I literally cannot even touch my heels to the ground in downward dog. I’m probably 30 pounds larger than most yoga teachers (15 lbs of which is pure boob) and I’m not entirely sure that teaching yoga is a goal for me. Did I mention I work full time and have two kids under age 7. And a dog. And I’m going to be vegetarian over the holidays (no Christmas crab!). FML.

Despite all of that mumbo jumbo, I still felt freakishly compelled to sign up for it. I’m sure it’s going to break me and I love that. I love being a student and it’s been a long time since I got into something where I felt lost and nervous and exhilarated and liberated. I’m ready to be new at something and probably a bit goofy at it like a deer learning to walk or something. I’m pretty sure that’s how I’ll approach headstands.

Plus there are a couple of really important things I need to learn like, how not to laugh like a middle school boy at the inevitable class fart, and find out why I’m not supposed to do an inversion when I’m on my period.

Let me give you a sense of what my “hobby” entails:

–Learn a new language (Sanskrit)

–Learn and understand most of the muscular and skeletal make-up of the human body

–Read 6 books (many of which are philosophical) and write a report on one

–Learn and do most of the poses by going to at least 12 hours of yoga classes each week

–Eat nothing with a mother

–Meditate

–Find enlightenment and let go of my ego

All in approximately 12 weeks time. And this is what I do for fun. Did I also mention that I sweat profusely when doing power vinyasa?

Namaste people.

I'm pretty sure this is what I might look like doing yoga.

I’m pretty sure this is what I might look like doing yoga.

 

 

 

4 Responses to “Almost a Yogi”

  1. Jenny Fagan Says:

    Congratulations on signing up for teacher training!! I am in the midst of my 200 RYT now and have found just the certification process to be such a transformative experience.

  2. tee+d Says:

    I can’t say you’re the LAST person I’d see teaching yoga – *I* am the last person – but I would say the meditative, calm, really-speak-quietly stuff I can’t see. You’re going to have to do one of those energetic yogas where people practically jump around. I just can’t imagine you with the ethereal voice… but that’s not to say that I don’t think you could kick everyone’s butt with your serenity, yo! I look forward to you discussing what kind of bra you’re going to wear to strap down the girls while you try to do headstands without suffocating…


Leave a comment