Scribbling Dame

Preposterous Pondering.

Get Your Freak On November 20, 2011

Filed under: Mommy Issues — Scribbling Dame @ 9:49 pm
Tags: , , , ,

I knew today was going to be stressful when last night I woke up because one of my nipples was itchy. Yes, the mysteries of pregnancy keep on giving. Definitely the sign of something off.

Every pregnancy has its freak out moments, and by this I mean not things that should freak a person out like health issues or the  vast weight of being responsible for another human life. I am talking about fearing, on apocalyptic levels, completely ridiculous shit. With Sofia, I was convinced, despite an entire closet and dresser full of clothing, that she would inevitably be forced to be naked. I don’t know if I thought she was going to spit up, or I’d never be able to do laundry (I wish!)–the cause is of no relevance. I impulsively kept buying clothing. She never went forcibly naked, in case you were concerned.

So today I had to sooth myself and talk myself down from a ledge of panic over, not unfortunate nakedness, but money. Now, this is not a totally irrational fear, especially given the temperature of the economic environment, but my privileged white ass was stressed because I thought I probably bought too much for Sofia for Christmas and her birthday, and somewhere I convinced myself that we’d be bankrupt next month. I started looking around my house at items that haven’t been used or only used once and  caught myself thinking of how I bought that stupid bath salt set and now we’re all going to starve.

Yay hormones!

I should also point out that I started off the morning in tears while watching a CBS news story of all the people in America who are worried about where their next meal will come from, and I cried because I am so grateful with everything I am blessed to have, especially considering my (at times) very poor upbringing. I am no where near poor, or even broke. Real poor people have no time or energy to contemplate if they are poor or not.

And what are my coping mechanisms for stress? Beer or vodka, which is out. Shopping, which is why I am stressed in the first place. Sex, but my back is killing me and sounds like too much work. So I took a bath, had a cup of tea, and reminded myself to be normal. It mostly worked.

These are my Thanksgiving Plans!

 

One Response to “Get Your Freak On”

  1. tadmack Says:

    Oy. What’s my excuse!? I do that money freak-out thing about once a month at least. “Oh, NO! Why did I buy that fancy cheese!? We didn’t NEED the yogurt drinks! That stuff is so expensive, and now we’re not going to afford the internet!!!”

    I cried watching the footage of UCB, where the students – and the faculty standing with them – were beaten down and pepper sprayed. Geez, how the hell are we going to come home and live and work in the U.S.??? I don’t know where to go anymore.

    …okay, no fair being downer on the pregnant chick. Put some Carmex on those nips and drink some more tea…


Leave a Reply

