Scribbling Dame

Preposterous Pondering.

Necessity is the Mother of Invention August 8, 2011

Filed under: Mommy Issues — Scribbling Dame @ 8:59 pm
Tags: , , , ,

I know. I haven’t blogged in a bit. Sue me. 🙂

I have been busy, and when I haven’t been busy I’ve been tired. And when I haven’t been tired and busy, my laptop battery had 3 minutes left on it. C’est la vie. Plus, I’ve been busy coming up with white lies to tell my daughter so she’ll do my bidding.

I bring you–the snake tent! Never heard of a snake tent? That’s sad for you. You should know about a snake tent because it keeps out all your bad dreams, most especially ones with snakes in them. More importantly, if your kid buys the snake tent concept, it will give you nights of actually sleeping for multiple consecutive hours, which I naively thought would be a given since I have an almost-four-year-old, but apparently that was a lie too (along with pregnancy being nine months, breastfeeding gets rid of your baby weight, etc, etc.).

Snake tent! Genius!

When I was a kid I had a stuffed E.T. doll that kept away bad dreams. It was a totally effective prop.

When my husband was a kid, his mother put coffee grounds in his milk so he’d drink it.

When most of us were kids, we got whiskey on our gums to ease teething pains.

So all I’m saying is, even with all the new-fangled products out there, it’s still easy to find yourself having to get creative to keep your kiddo calm. It’s better than a one-armed man (for you Arrested Development fans). Necessity is the mother of invention, and mothers know invention is totally okay if it makes your kid feel better and gets you what you need to prevent you from selling your kid on Craigslist. See–everyone wins!

 

3 Responses to “Necessity is the Mother of Invention”

  1. Helenne Asebez- cousin Says:

    Reading your comments and stories are hilarious. I enjoy it all………..especially, Sofia’s comments.

  2. Mom Says:

    I love the snake tent – whatever works, that doesn’t harm, is wonderful!!! Also it was about 1/2 teaspoon or less of instant decaf coffee, not coffee grounds. But hey – who cares, he drank it, he loved it and he is healthy, happy and a fantastic man. It made for a calm, happy family. 🙂 love ya, Mom

  3. tadmack Says:

    Oooh, pretty snake tent!! Bonus points for the butterflies, Ma.

    I gave coffee to my fifth graders because they were hyperactive little things and it beat giving them all Ritalin. (I had parental permission for this, believe it or not. They felt they were all sophisticates at a learning salon. I felt I was sedating them. Win-win.)


Leave a Reply

