Scribbling Dame

Preposterous Pondering.

You might look thinner, but you will also look stupider February 1, 2011

Before any of you comment, I am using the word “stupider” ironically. I am fully aware it’s not a word.

Okay. Now that we got that out of the way…

I always find it hilarious that people who are obsessed with losing weight, something you might say is connected to vanity, will often do the most ridiculous looking things to lose weight.  In order to permanently look good, they will temporarily look like a complete ass.

Almost all weight loss infomercials and exercise products reinforce this. Remember the thighmaster? Ridiculous. Or, a more current example: the shake weight. These are items that no one looks good using, which is why they are on infomercials–so fat people who don’t leave their house can use their embarrassing near-sexual exercise gear at home like good Americans.

I recently happened upon a segment from Good Morning America that featured an exercise regime for   new moms called “The Stroller Stride.” I have a problem with this for a couple of reasons; first, if there is one moment to enjoy being gelatinous it is pregnancy and new motherhood. Let’s give ourselves a break already! Secondly, it defies the decency of doing your stupid-looking exercises at home away from public scrutiny. I don’t need to elaborate. Watch for yourself.

I can tell you they had to use fake babies because no right-minded kid wants to be seen pushed around by these crazies.

 

3 Responses to “You might look thinner, but you will also look stupider”

  1. jade Says:

    I must tell you…Ms. Scribbling Dame you bring laughter into my living room each and ever night I log on to your site. I could be speechless but I’m not going to be….Okay first I am not a mum second I have taught various fitness classes for years and third I worked in childcare at a YMCA. I must say all the mothers I knew really enjoyed workout classes minus the children. It was their time for them and they really cherished it. Crazy ladies dancing with strollers. An my last little remark you best get your kid out of that stroller and have them working out with you or else you will have a child who may be a little on the pudgy side. ( and I could only keep thinking of what the kids in the strollers were thinking in their heads ” Yo mom I’m bored or “Yo mom are we done yet” or my favorite ” yo mom you look like a douche bag”

  2. Joanna Says:

    “Mom-preneurs”? and, really, how exciting is to watch other people working out? I know I’d get bored LONG before the “full-body workout” was complete.
    I ❤ you, scribbling dame, for bringing such ridiculousness into my life!


Leave a Reply

