Scribbling Dame

Preposterous Pondering.

The Showdown December 25, 2009

Filed under: Mommy Issues — Scribbling Dame @ 6:23 pm
Tags: , , , ,

Let me just release you from any suspense in this blog–I lost the showdown.

I tried to discipline my two-year-old because she has not been listening to Mommy lately. She has gotten sassier, saying”I don’t want to” and since I was home all week and had the opportunity to actually mother my child, I figured I’d give the old time-out a try and start setting some boundaries before she runs my life in all the wrong ways and generally grows up to be a wanton slut because I never gave her time-out (and my husband and I have already decided not to spank).

The time out turned into an hour long battle, in which I was incredibly stressed and destroyed by guilt and still did not get the apology I was seeking, and Sofia ended up shirtless in a corner with self-inflicted bite marks on her arm and not understanding why I was being so mean to her.

And all this was because she wouldn’t put away her puppy dog. Definitely not fucking worth it.

I have decided it is too soon to use time-outs. I thought I was doing everything that SuperNanny would have instructed–I was firm, I said why she was in time out and said what she had to do to get out (apologize) but she just would not. The guilt I felt was ridiculous–I felt like I was inflicting harm on my child for no GOOD reason–it is not really that important to me if she picks up her puppy if it means she cries for an hour straight and gets so stressed out that she bites her own arm.

Maybe I did it wrong? Maybe she is too young? I have no idea. I would welcome any advice out there…I am afraid that if I don’t figure this one out, I’ll be lost forever!

 

2 Responses to “The Showdown”

  1. Joanna Says:

    I don’t have any advice, just sympathy. I’m a year behind so I’ll just be watching you…let me know when you figure it out 😉

    • tigrmom Says:

      Ha! If I figure it out I am pretty sure I will become a very rich woman! But, feel free to call me anytime for some commiserating and understanding 🙂


Leave a Reply

