Scribbling Dame

Preposterous Pondering.

Stuff, stuff and more stuff! December 25, 2009

Filed under: Mommy Issues — Scribbling Dame @ 6:10 pm
Tags: , ,

I am officially a hippie. Now, having survived my first Christmas with a two-year-old who is grasping the concept of presents and Santa and candy, I find myself thinking–“wow, this is just too much stuff” and vowing that next year we will keep it simple.

Only, here is the challenge–we did keep it simple. We got my kid 3 gifts (one from us, one from the dog and one from Santa) and her stocking stuffers and she still ended up with more than 15 presents to open this morning. I could just see the kid getting over-whelmed! She was perfectly happy with 2 presents! What a lesson to be learned from our children!

I am trying to think of a way to send the message to relatives that money for her savings would be better, but how does one do that without seeming ungrateful? I feel lucky to have the problem of too much stuff–especially in a year when so many are going without.

I had an interesting conversation with a friend the other day about how economists say that gift-giving is a bad investment (unless you are buying gift cards) because the receiver often doesn’t enjoy the gift the same amount that you pay for it. His response was that often when he gives gifts it is because he enjoys the giving of it. And this is why I think I will never be able to truly pare down to the simple Christmas–little girls, and kids in general, are simply too fun to buy for.

 

Leave a Reply

