Scribbling Dame

Preposterous Pondering.

How I Met Your Father November 4, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — Scribbling Dame @ 10:50 pm

Before I tell you the story of how my husband and I met you should know two things. 1) I was 19. 2) If you ever meet my daughter you must vow to tell her we met in church. This vow is effective until 2037, when she is 30. After that, feel free to share the real story below.

Did I mention I was 19?

I went out with a bunch of girls from Mills to the only under-age club in San Francisco–City Nights. We affectionately referred to this place as Shitty Nights once we were of age…Anyway, you can imagine a van full of 8 girls from a women’s college out for a night on the town.

We went to the club and danced and then at 2 a.m. when the place shut down, we headed to the Bay Bridge to go home. It was a sadly uneventful night compared to our expectations.

One of the reasons I do not miss San Francisco is the traffic. Even at 2 a.m. we wer sitting in dead-stop traffice waiting to get onto the bridge. I happened to look over and see a cute boy, alone in his car, which I absolutely had to point out to my girlfriends. Naturally the guy felt 8 pairs of eyes on him and he made eye contact with us. Naturally, we looked away. Then I looked back and noticed the boy was making funny faces at us. So, I decided to make it interesting.

I got out of the van (picture me a svelt blonde, 19, in a mini-skirt and go-go boots) and go up to his passenger side window for him to let me into the car. Did I mention we were in dead stop traffic? (I love how I always include this fact as if that makes this whole thing much safer.) He let’s me in. I say “You should really kow someone’s name before you go making faces at them.”

We introduced ourselves and exhanged numbers. I get back in my van full of fans–I had even before this established myself to this group as the party girl. (We all took a trip to Europe together, so I had a reputation to live up to…)

Jeremy broke the one-week cool rule of time to wait before calling. He called me (technically) that night and we spoke for 3 hours even though we both hate the phone. I came over and we watched Interview with the Vampire on his VCR (God I am old). He walked me to my car and gave me a fake vampire bite on my neck which led to a kiss (God what a nerd), which led to me to move in a month later, marry the guy 4 years after that and make a baby 7 years after I jumped in his car.

This is how I met my husband.

 

2 Responses to “How I Met Your Father”

  1. Kris Says:

    You are one crazy bi$#h! (I say that very affectionately!) Great story!


Leave a Reply

