Scribbling Dame

Preposterous Pondering.

Can’t I be Boss for a Little Bit? October 15, 2009

Filed under: Mommy Issues — Scribbling Dame @ 3:39 am

I would like to lodge a complaint with the stork, or God, or the pregnancy fairies or whoever is out there that is responsible for my baby. I have a real problem here. My baby girl won’t let me do her hair or wear hats. In fact, at two-years-old, she won’t let me do anything fun to her, except for kisses, which are awesome…

Anyway, I spent my whole life waiting for the right time to become pregnant, nine (actually 10!) months cooking her up, and of course now I dedicate my waking life to ensuring she is taken care of, doesn’t get arrested and goes to college. The least she could do is let me fix up her hair so she can look like a little pixie. I am even willing to compromise and let her wear a hat–fair enough if she doesn’t want me to tug her locks into a teenie hair tie.

I was lied to–from a young age, from those Barbie days where I could dress her up and do her hair how I liked. I was told by all of society that I would get to do the same with my little girl once I had one.

Damn lies. Not even 30 seconds go by before she pulls out or off my fine contribution to her darling appearance. I thought that wasn’t supposed to happen until the teen years?

 

3 Responses to “Can’t I be Boss for a Little Bit?”

  1. Savannah Says:

    Awesome blog!

    I thought about starting my own blog too but I’m just too lazy so, I guess Ill just have to keep checking yours out.
    LOL,

  2. Lex Says:

    I totally know what you mean. My four-year old has really just started to let me do her hair within the last year or so. Prior to that, she always looked hella scruffy, and the other moms at the playground would be like, “… ”

    Now I get to go through it all again, as my 22-month old, who has a super-thick, curly mop of hair on her head, absolutely flips her shit when I come at her with a brush.

    Good times.


Leave a Reply

